College Division and University Division Play to 4-4 Tie In 2018 NEIBA All-Star Game

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – On one of the nicest days of the spring season, the top players from Division I, II, and III came together to play in the 44th Annual Joe Walsh All-Star Game at McCoy Stadium.

The two teams played in front of over 300 fans at the home of the Pawtucket Red Sox. For most of the players, Thursday's All-Star game marked the final time they would wear their college colors. In total, 15 different programs were represented in the All-Star game with the College Division (DII/III) and the University Division (DI) playing to a 4-4 tie.

The draw was the fourth and second straight in the history of the All-Star game which dates back to 1976. The All-Star game was named in honor of former Harvard University head baseball coach Joe Walsh, who passed away suddenly at the age of 58 in July of 2012.

Prior to the start of the game, the 2018 NEIBA major award winners as the Division I, II, and III coaches of the year, and programs of the year were recognized. The NEIBA then announced the 2018 major award winners, which honored the top coaches in the New England baseball today. Finally, the newest members of the NEIBA Hall of Fame were honored in Bill Holowaty (Eastern Connecticut State U.), Bill Thurston (Amherst College), Pete Varney (Brandeis University).

Following the conclusion of the game the Most Outstanding Player from each team was recognized. From the University Division it was UMass Lowell's Nick Rand, while from the College Division it was University of New Haven's Tom Walraven.